Goodbye to Garvey

Soler
3 min readDec 4, 2019

--

I love you, buddy. ❤

It was almost Halloween, and I was in my English 11 class feverishly texting my dad screenshots from the “Adopt a Dog Today” section of the NSPCA’s website. He finally, after ten years, said we could get a dog. By the end of that night, Erin from the kennel had become Garvey Bean, and our four-year friendship had begun.

He was the most polite dog ever. Never bit me even accidentally and never barked at us to get our attention. He hardly barked at all honestly, only if the doorbell rang or someone knocked on the front door. He loved to sleep in me, or my dad’s laundry baskets- it didn’t matter if the clothes were dirty or clean.

He was the definition of a foodie. His favorite food of all time was baby ribs with sweet BBQ sauce.

Garvey with BBQ sauce on his forehead after digging in the trash XD

He repeatedly went into the trash and pick off any meat my dad left on the bone. He loved sharp cheddar cheese and hated Swiss cheese with a passion. He would never turn down a Ritz cracker or the outer edges of a pop tart. Anytime we’d get Chinese food, he would lose it over the combination fried-rice (but wouldn’t eat the peas or carrots). He would have survived purely off peanut butter bacon Beggin’ strips if we let him. When my dad and I were eating, Garvey was always *right there* waiting for us to give him some.

I’ll never see him peeking between the banisters at the top of the stairs when I come home again.

I’ll never hear him snoring while sleeping under my bed again. I’ll never get to see him have that big, goofy smile in the morning because he knows I’m giving him a treat when we go downstairs again.

I’ll never get to tell him about the dramas unfolding in my life while he sits nearby, seemingly listening intently, ever again.

He was the best dog anyone could have asked for. This hurts so badly. I haven’t been sleeping for the past week because every time I did sleep, it was one day closer to the day he had to be put down. Every time I looked at him this past week, I would tear up because I knew this would have to happen sooner and sooner. I’m happy he won’t be in pain or having seizures anymore, but goddamn it, I’m going to miss him so, so, so much.

I love you, Garvey. I wouldn’t trade the time we have had together for anything in the world. I’m glad you could spend your golden years with us. I hope we‘ll see each other again.

Rest easy lil Bean.

10/27/2005–12/4/2019

--

--

Soler

Writer. Womanist. Worrier. Alliteration Enthusiast.